ROSTER REVIEW

Jason Gregor
April 18 2010 10:03PM

A week has passed since the Oilers finished their worst season ever. I know statistically they had more points than the 1993 team, but there was no shootouts then, so let’s not argue semantics. This season sucked worse than any other, plain and simple.

So let’s now look ahead to next season. If I had asked these questions last week I think most of you would have said something to the effect of "unload all of these mother *&(&(*)@ piece of &*)*(@ players and take the management with them"

While that might have been valid, we know it isn’t realistic. In the short term the Oilers need to look at the next steps of what amounts to a complete overhaul of the team.

The Summer of Steve officially began last Wednesday when Tambellini said he wouldn’t put up with whiny, selfish, non-courageous and anti-Edmonton players. It’s one thing to say it, now we need to see him implement this new found outlook. I don’t expect him to call me this summer to ask for my advice, but I’m sure the OilersNation is saved on his browser so here’s what I think the Oilers will do this off-season.

(Note: Steve feel free to call or text me if I’m way off-base, you have my number.)

Many of you would love to buy out 19 players, four coaches, eight scouts and all the managers; hell someone even emailed me stating it’s time Paul Lorieau gets the boot, but we know Tambellini can’t gut the entire team in one five-month span. Here’s what the Oilers will do, okay should do, this summer.

GOALTENDING

 

Many think Nikolai Khabibulin was a brutal signing last summer, and coupled with his back surgery and drunk driving charge, it looks even worse, but buying him out would cripple the team even more, so the only option is to stick with him for the time being.

The real question here is who do you keep as the back up, Jeff Deslauriers or Devan Dubnyk?

Neither has proven they can be a consistent NHL goalie, but both have shown they can win a game by themselves. Deslauriers is more athletic, Dubnyk is more technical and that’s why I’d go with Dubnyk. He’s a bit younger and Deslauriers will probably fetch you more in a trade. Not a lot more, but maybe a 4th or 5th rounder instead of just losing him to the waiver wire in October.

Tambellini could wait and hope that every team will have two goalies they like coming out of training camp and Deslauriers might slide through waivers, but I don’t see that happening. Tambellini’s best option is to move him during the summer and get a mid to late round pick in return.

OUT OF THE GATE: Khabibulin and Dubnyk

DEFENCE

Tom Gilbert, Ryan Whitney and Ladislav Smid are obvious keepers at this point, but after that it gets difficult to think you will return. Taylor Chorney needs to get stronger and another half-season in the AHL won’t hurt him. Theo Peckham is close, but if he is here he is a number six at best. Tambellini will try to get a number four D-man in return for Sheldon Souray and if he gets one that doesn’t come with a $4 million cap hit, he’ll be happy.

The tough decision will be deciding on who they keep between Jason Strudwick and Aaron Johnson. If it was just an on ice decision they’d go with Johnson, but Strudwick is much respected and in tune with the younger players, and they need a veteran like that for at least one more year. Ideally Strudwick would only play around 40 games, but his value will come more in the dressing room than on the ice. Anyone who doesn’t think that element (professionalism) is necessary for this team moving forward hasn’t been paying attention.

OUT OF THE GATE: I see Smid, Whitney, Gilbert, Strudwick and Peckham returning for sure along with a stay-at-home defenceman from the Souray deal. Then Tambellini will try to bring in a number five and if he can’t they might have to settle for Johnson for one year.

CENTRE

Shawn Horcoff and Sam Gagner are locks to return, but they other positions will be debated heavily. If management chooses Tyler Seguin (which I think they will) he rounds out the top three and that leaves Marc Pouliot and Ryan Potulny to battle for the 4th line spot. Or does it? The Oilers could use a 4th line centre with some intensity, but I still think still need one of Potulny or Pouliot, just not both.

Even if they draft Taylor Hall, they still shouldn’t keep both. They need more of an identity in their bottom six, and having Potulny and Pouliot doesn’t solve that. Potulny had a great start, and no one saw him scoring 15 goals, but his play dipped drastically in the final 30 games and I don’t see him matching those goal totals, because he won’t get close to the same amount of PP time. The Oilers can’t keep both moving forward, because they are essentially the same player. Pouliot skates better, Potulny finishes better, but neither is overly physical, but Pouliot has learned to at least use his size to rub the odd guy off the puck.

Tambellini chose Pouliot over Brodziak last year, but he can’t make the same mistake this season. I’d keep Potulny and move Pouliot at the draft.

OUT OF THE GATE: Horcoff, Gagner, Seguin, Potulny and veteran UFA signing.

WINGERS

 

Trading Ales Hemsky for the 2nd pick is a pipe dream for Oiler fans, and while I’m not convinced Hemsky will be here long-term, he’ll be here next September. Dustin Penner is a no-brainer to return and Gilbert Brule is the other winger I’d keep on a supposed scoring line. After those three it gets really interesting.

If the Oilers surprise me (not that it would be bad to select Hall, I just don’t think they will at this point) and take Hall then the decision is easy. But since I don’t think he’ll be here, they still need another scorer and the options look to be one of Jordan Eberle, MPS, Andrew Cogliano, Linus Omark, Robert Nilsson, Jaromir Jagr or other.

You’ll notice I didn’t even mention Patrick O’Sullivan, because I don’t see any way he returns to Edmonton. They will either trade him or buy him out. They’d keep Nilsson over him at this point. It might cause uproar in the Oil-blogosphere, but Eberle is not a lock to make this team coming out of camp. If he earns it they will find a spot for him, but if he is just average in the preseason, they won’t hesitate to give him 40 games in the AHL to hone is game.

There is no way the Oilers want to rush any of their top offensive prospects next season, despite the barrage of hate mail they will receive from over-zealous fans wearing Eberle jerseys next season. MPS and Omark are the most difficult to gauge at this point. Many feel both are ready to play next year, but there is only room for one of them to start the season. Omark has committed to playing in North America next season, while as of today there is no guarantee MPS will choose the AHL over the SEL.

I threw in Jagr because I’m still not 100% sold that this team will go completely with youth, and the allure of Jagr teaching showing their young offensive guys some tricks-of-the-trade might be too much for Tambellini and company to resist. My head tells me no, but like that annoying buddy who buys you two shots at last call, sometimes guys make impulsive decisions that seem good at the time but ultimately don’t pan out. I think Jagr coming here is about a 30/70 chance. Prove me wrong Steve. Nilsson just doesn’t fit in moving forward, and while buy outs aren't the best option all the time, in this case it probably makes sense.

I don’t see Andrew Cogliano playing here next season. No one has told me this flat out, but when Pat Quinn was talking about players worrying about who they play with, Cogliano’s name popped into my head. Cogliano could easily become a 20-25 goal scorer with another organization, and that’s why he has value on the trade market, but they have too many small, soft, supposedly-skilled forwards and someone has to go. Cogliano will be that guy, and I think they’ll address their lack of size by sending Cogliano packing.

GRIT, ATTITUDE, GRIT and NASTINESS

The Oilers biggest void is an identity in their bottom six forwards. For the past four years they haven’t had enough guys willing to be puck-hounds every shift, and that’s exactly what they need. Until the young talent, becomes proven scoring talent the Oilers need their bottom four wingers to make life difficult for the opposition. The problem is these types of wingers are a rarity so realistically Tambellini might only be able to nab one this summer.

Zach Stortini is limited in his game, but his game has slowly improved over the years, he’ll continue that over the summer. If he could gain even a quarter step of foot speed he’d be able to finish more hits and make life harder on opposing D-men. He knows his role and is under contract for another year.

J.F Jacques led the Oilers in hits, 158, despite playing only 49 games. His back is a question mark, but he proved this season that he finally understands the need to be physical every game. He skates well for a big-man, and if he can stay healthy he could morph into a 3rd liner. Of course that is a big if, and that’s why they will need another forward who can fill in for Jacques when he misses the odd game. Tambellini has to find some depth amongst his physical wingers.

The Oilers had a measly three players with 100+ hits, which is why they rarely had the puck in the offensive zone for any extended period of time. Once they lost it, they didn’t have the ability to get it back via a check.

Many, including Ethan Moreau, thought the captain would be gone at the trade deadline, but that didn’t happen and his strong finish could see him start the year in Edmonton . Moreau was humbled at the deadline when no one was willing to trade for him, and he seemed to find the game that made him effective for the previous ten seasons in Edmonton . Moreau can only be effective playing one way; Tenacious. If he doesn’t play with emotion then he looks like he did for the first 60 games this year; Horrendous.

Three months ago I would have said there was no way he’d be here in September, but now I think you’ll see him start the season in Edmonton .

Ryan Jones and Ryan Stone will battle for one of the two extra forward spots. There isn’t room for both and they are essentially the same type of player. Both will come to camp, but only one will survive. The wild card in this equation is Mike Comrie.

Comrie wants to play here next year, and only Dustin Penner averaged more goals per game than Comrie last year. His competitive fire is what would make him valuable next season. This roster will have at least three and maybe four small, skilled forwards who could learn a lot from how Comrie plays. He goes to the tough areas to score goals, he doesn’t shy away and he stands up for himself. His biggest asset might be that he has proven he can produce with limited minutes.

He doesn’t need to play 18 minutes a night to score 20 goals. His presence would also push the young guys to produce; otherwise he might take their spot for a game here or there. His versatility, experience and reasonable salary should have him back in Oiler silks next season.

The debate will also rage on during the summer about Potulny and Pouliot. If I am making the call I would take the guy who blew through every single expectation he had going into the season registering15 goals and 17 assists for 32 in 64 games over a guy who has had four years to prove he wants to stay on this roster and has done little in this regard. 

But that's just me.

OUT OF THE GATE: Hemsky, Penner, Brule, Stortini, Moreau, Jacques, Eberle, Stone, Comrie and off-season UFA signing.

NET SUM GAME

If you are skipping to the end of this murder mystery novel all this means Sheldon Souray, Robert Nilsson, Patrick O’Sullivan, Fernando Pisani, Aaron Johnson and Andrew Cogliano won’t be back.

Ddf3e2ba09069c465299f3c416e43eae
One of Canada's most versatile sports personalities. Jason hosts The Jason Gregor Show, weekdays from 2 to 6 p.m., on TSN 1260, and he writes a column every Monday in the Edmonton Journal. You can follow him on Twitter at twitter.com/JasonGregor
Avatar
#201 DoubleJ
April 19 2010, 06:42PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@oilfan#99

Pouliot played with Crosby (I'm pretty sure everyone knows this).

Second this is Seguin's second year in the OHL and Hall's third year. Hall has been on an allstar ohl team the whole time. Hall has improved a little every year. But Seguin's improvements might be a sign of great things to come.

I don't really care who we pick. But Seguin has been carrying his team this whole year.

Avatar
#202 OilCrazy
April 19 2010, 06:54PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@OilFan

On Oilers Lunch on the Team today Bob mentioned a trade scenario of Gagner and Souray to Ottawa for Spezza and Lee.

I don't mind that trade. We'd get a legit #1 centre and could draft Hall to play with him and Hemsky. And Spezza's only 27. That line would be sick!

It would be tough losing Gagner, however you have to pay to get quality in return. We'd still be deep at centre with Brule, Cogliano, Horcoff, Potulny and Pouliot to choose from.

Thoughts???

Avatar
#203 OilFan
April 19 2010, 06:58PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@OilCrazy

I'm not a huge fan of Spezza, that being said I don't see Gagner beinga first line center. I like Brule he plays well with Penner I'd try to trade Pouliot

Avatar
#204 OilCrazy
April 19 2010, 07:00PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

If we did trade for Spezza as per my post above, our top 2 lines could be:

Hall-Spezza-Hemsky

Penner-Brule-Eberle

Penner and Brule had some great chemistry this year and Penner would make room on the ice for Eberle.

Wow!

Avatar
#205 dunciano
April 19 2010, 07:01PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

someone please start the Lowe must go campaign

Avatar
#206 OilFan
April 19 2010, 07:02PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
dunciano wrote:

someone please start the Lowe must go campaign

K LOWE MUST GO, K LOWE MUST GO, K LOWE MUST GO

Avatar
#207 Archaeologuy
April 19 2010, 07:11PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
OilCrazy wrote:

On Oilers Lunch on the Team today Bob mentioned a trade scenario of Gagner and Souray to Ottawa for Spezza and Lee.

I don't mind that trade. We'd get a legit #1 centre and could draft Hall to play with him and Hemsky. And Spezza's only 27. That line would be sick!

It would be tough losing Gagner, however you have to pay to get quality in return. We'd still be deep at centre with Brule, Cogliano, Horcoff, Potulny and Pouliot to choose from.

Thoughts???

Here's what i dont like. The team is finally getting into a rebuilding mode and now we're talking about taking a shortcut. Gagner may or may not ever turn into a #1 Centre, but we should be accumulating young players not getting rid of them. There are players that dont need to be here. Players that dont seem to have much of a future at all, and we can lose those guys. POS and Nilsson come to mind. However, there are guys like Gagner and Cogliano who do probably have brighter futures in the NHL. Gagner tracks really well for his age, and Cogliano should also round into a top 6 guy.

So the big issue for me is that instead of collecting young players and developing them some of the Fans want to collect young players and trade them to other teams before they fully develop. It's a never ending cycle. The team will be spinning its wheels forever if they keep sending the kids away.

Avatar
#208 SirFozz
April 19 2010, 07:17PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Archaeologuy wrote:

Here's what i dont like. The team is finally getting into a rebuilding mode and now we're talking about taking a shortcut. Gagner may or may not ever turn into a #1 Centre, but we should be accumulating young players not getting rid of them. There are players that dont need to be here. Players that dont seem to have much of a future at all, and we can lose those guys. POS and Nilsson come to mind. However, there are guys like Gagner and Cogliano who do probably have brighter futures in the NHL. Gagner tracks really well for his age, and Cogliano should also round into a top 6 guy.

So the big issue for me is that instead of collecting young players and developing them some of the Fans want to collect young players and trade them to other teams before they fully develop. It's a never ending cycle. The team will be spinning its wheels forever if they keep sending the kids away.

Agreed. We still wouldn't have a decent bottom six, 6 nhl defencemen, or dependable goaltending. There is no quick fix here. The only way to build a true contending team (which we all want, right?) is slowly developing all areas together.

Avatar
#209 Mitch
April 19 2010, 07:20PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
OilFan wrote:

I don't think Gagner gets you much more then Cogs in a trade ? Maybe they package Gagner and Souray for a decent return

I just like the thought of Cogliano on the roster more than Gagner, if I have to choose between the two, or maybe you keep both and Hemsky is the one gone. I'am just more concerned with developing Edmonton Oilers and having good soldiers around like Strudwick and Comrie they know the city and understand the leadership aspect of being a Oiler, I dont want to get to caught up in tradition of the oilers, but it's important to develop a new level of compete that is designed for todays game. That is what is most important thing to get across to the new teammates compete! To many players don't want to accept the responsibilty of being a pro, forget about the "I dont like the city excuse".

Avatar
#210 OilCrazy
April 19 2010, 07:23PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I'm not talking pretender to contender in 1 year. If you look at the youth we'd still leave outside of the Oil starting lineup, we would still have a long term rebuild strategy and have a competitive team next year.

Spezza wouldn't be a 2 year thing, he could be with the team for 10 years. We'd still be leaving MPS, Petry, Omark, Lander, Plante etc in the minors/Europe next year, as well as whomever we draft this summer outside of the #1 pick. #31 will be a strong pick as well for the future.

Avatar
#211 darrenb
April 19 2010, 07:27PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

is anyone else having problems opening up the team 1260 playoff pool?? wtf!!!

Avatar
#212 OilFan
April 19 2010, 07:43PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I agree with stock piling young talent. But we aren't going to be able to keep them all. If we trade Gagner for a first line center that is still fairly young its a upgrade is it not ? I can't see the Oilers playing a bunch of rookies

Avatar
#213 madjam
April 19 2010, 07:45PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
OB1 Team Yakopov - F.S.T.N.F wrote:

What it means is that using the teamates argument to lift Seguin and drop Hall is weak at best.

Say i like Seguin too , but only as a second choice to Hall . I'll take the proven " bird in the hand " over the still unproven Sequin " bird in the bush " !! I hope we can afford to make a pitch for Sequin as well , but theirs not a hope in Hades that i'd pass up on a chance to land Hall !!

Avatar
#214 asciutto
April 19 2010, 08:14PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

"Pouliot played with Crosby (I'm pretty sure everyone knows this)."

Not in his draft year. Crosby joined Pouliot for the next season.

Avatar
#215 dunciano
April 19 2010, 09:16PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Lowe has got to be fired

Avatar
#216 David S
April 19 2010, 09:24PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
OilCrazy wrote:

On Oilers Lunch on the Team today Bob mentioned a trade scenario of Gagner and Souray to Ottawa for Spezza and Lee.

I don't mind that trade. We'd get a legit #1 centre and could draft Hall to play with him and Hemsky. And Spezza's only 27. That line would be sick!

It would be tough losing Gagner, however you have to pay to get quality in return. We'd still be deep at centre with Brule, Cogliano, Horcoff, Potulny and Pouliot to choose from.

Thoughts???

A few thoughts:

Gagner is better than Brule, Cogliano, Potulny and Pouliot. Next year I'd bet he'll be better than Horcoff too. Gagner will be 21 next year, putting him 6 full years than Spezza. Pretty much on the money for a developing team wouldn't you say? The team has invested a crapload of juicy minutes on Gagner's development. Not sure if they'd want to give another team a guy on the cusp of being a helluva player they put so much effort into. Pretty sure we're not going for the cup next year, so why bother with a guy like Spezza? Do you really think Spezza would come here willingly? Really? Bob throws these stinky nuggets out to churn up the phone lines. He even said that he didn't want the HF boards lighting up with trade talk. This isn't HF boards. Yet.

Trade Gagner? That's almost as rich as "Moreau for...anybody".

Avatar
#217 David S
April 19 2010, 09:26PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers

^ Sorry for the madjam-esque paragraph. Bullet points failed and so did spacing.

Avatar
#218 Bombay
April 19 2010, 09:34PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Who's madjam?!?!? ;)

Avatar
#219 Pajamah
April 19 2010, 09:43PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Bombay

let me tell you who madjam is hes the guys whose is always just going on with conspiracy theories and run on sentences or paragraphs until most readers here lose it on him but even then he just goes on and on with a bunch of garbage does this ring any bells also he doesnt use punctuation ever

I hurt my own brain there for a second (and no, he'd never hit enter to begin a new thought, either)

It's like listening to your grandmother talk about Susie, down the street, whose neighbor was your old best friends babysitter

You could care less what he says, but you nod, hoping to god he'll shut up

Avatar
#220 Pajamah
April 19 2010, 09:43PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

and yes, I knew you knew who the guy was, I just felt like venting

Avatar
#221 Bombay
April 19 2010, 09:55PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Ahhhhh. Thank you for the clarity Pajamah. That was a very well thought out response. Lol

Avatar
#222 Wanyes bastard child
April 19 2010, 10:13PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Pajamah

Personally I just never read his comments, makes my eyes bleed.

Avatar
#223 Wanyes bastard child
April 19 2010, 10:15PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Oh and we reeeally need to sign Comrie for next year, if for nothing but all the "Duff" jokes that won't go wasted.

Avatar
#225 Petr's Jofa
April 20 2010, 07:02AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
David S wrote:

Holy crap! Was today a holiday or something?

I believe it was St George's Day. Great day to drink orange beer or whatever you're supposed to do.

Avatar
#226 Crash
April 20 2010, 10:30AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Jason Gregor wrote:
Ok, maybe I'm not understanding this but how is it that Hall is more physically mature at this point....aren't they both listed as almost identical in height and weight? Around 6' 185lbs? If that is true I'm not sure what it is about Hall that causes the belief that he is more physically mature than Seguin.... Could it be just that Hall plays a more physical game than Seguin?

That was your first statement then you wrote this.

Actually what I think when it comes to evaluating players or guessing about the future that Gregor is a sports fan just like I am and just like everyone else is and that he doesn't necessarily know anymore about these kind of things than anyone else.

Your first statement proves that in fact I do know more than you in this situation because Hall isn't the same weight as Seguin. He is thicker, and he probably will be his entire career, but I doubt he will grow three inches and end up 15 pounds heavier than Seguin, which he is now.

I don't claim to know more than most, but because of contacts I get better info and it is more accurate. Not always of course, but more often than not. Suggesting I'm just a sports fan suggests you think I just write stuff for the sake of it, and that isn't the case.

Back up your arguments with facts or reasoning, rather than just responding because you disagree.

If you noticed in my first statement I didn't question you as to whether you knew more, that's why in my first statement it asked the question aren't they both listed as the same size? Then I said "if" that is true...not that it is true.

On the second point if you read it you'd see that I didn't say you were just a sports fan overall....I said that when it came to evaluating players in the present or evaluating players as to what they would look like in the future that you are just a sports fan like anyone else with an opinion and that your opinion isn't anymore correct than anyone else's....and I stick to that claim...

I believe I did back up my arguement with reasoning...I think it was more than reasonable to suggest that if two players are being reported as being the same height and weight that one isn't more physically mature than the other.

One thing you did though was suggest that Seguin WILL catch up in his physical maturity...how do you know this to be a fact? Maybe Hall is more dedicated to his workouts than Seguin...maybe Seguin will never be as physically mature as Hall...but you say it like you know it's a fact...So I could say the same thing to you as you did to me...back up your arguements with actual facts not just your hunches just because you disagree.

Avatar
#227 Jmask5
April 20 2010, 10:49AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I'd rather keep Pisani over Jacques. Both have injury troubles but when healthy I like Pisani's Pk abilities over Jacques giantness.

Avatar
#228 Archaeologuy
April 20 2010, 11:16AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Crash

2 things:

1) They arent being reported as the same height and weight. Hall is slightly shorter and 202 pounds as reported by RB

2) I think you're confusing physical maturity with physical attributes. If someone says Seguin is not as physically mature as Hall it doesnt mean Seguin will one day be as big as Hall. Seguin WILL one day be as physically mature as Hall, he just might not be the same size. It is a fact: Assuming they both live full lives, the two players will both reach physical maturity.

Avatar
#229 Crash
April 20 2010, 12:56PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Archaeologuy wrote:

2 things:

1) They arent being reported as the same height and weight. Hall is slightly shorter and 202 pounds as reported by RB

2) I think you're confusing physical maturity with physical attributes. If someone says Seguin is not as physically mature as Hall it doesnt mean Seguin will one day be as big as Hall. Seguin WILL one day be as physically mature as Hall, he just might not be the same size. It is a fact: Assuming they both live full lives, the two players will both reach physical maturity.

1) In RB's latest article on ON he mentions that Hall and Seguin are listed as being the same size but then lays out the correction on Hall's size so yes it is being reported somewhere that they are indeed the same size otherwise RB wouldn't have stated as such...whether the report is correct is in question but it is and has been reported.

2) Possibly I am confusing physical maturity with physical attributes. If what you are saying is correct then all the more reason to take Hall...

Avatar
#230 TigerUnderGlass
April 20 2010, 02:19PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Archaeologuy

Some places list them at almost exactly the same size. Other places give Seguin half an inch and Hall 12-13 pounds.

Avatar
#231 Archaeologuy
April 20 2010, 02:29PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
TigerUnderGlass wrote:

Some places list them at almost exactly the same size. Other places give Seguin half an inch and Hall 12-13 pounds.

But we've established through RB that Hall does not weigh the same as Seguin. Done. Either the places that have them at the same weight are wrong or it's RB.

I'll take RB's info.

Based on that, "I think it was more than reasonable to suggest that if two players are being reported as being the same height and weight that one isn't more physically mature than the other.", is invalid.

Avatar
#233 TigerUnderGlass
April 20 2010, 06:16PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Archaeologuy wrote:

But we've established through RB that Hall does not weigh the same as Seguin. Done. Either the places that have them at the same weight are wrong or it's RB.

I'll take RB's info.

Based on that, "I think it was more than reasonable to suggest that if two players are being reported as being the same height and weight that one isn't more physically mature than the other.", is invalid.

But nothing...you said it isn't being reported when it very clearly is. That was the only issue I addressed in my post.

As for this 202 business....I'm sorry but I didn't read where RB said this and I don't know the context so this is slightly ignorant, but I have never seen him listed anywhere near 200, so I wonder at the likelihood of him weighing almost 20 pounds heavier than the information given to CSS.

Did RB say where he got the info? (I've been very busy lately and apparently haven't kept up in my reading)

Also, CSS has Seguin at 172. That would make him the lightest player in the top 20 domestic skaters. That surprised me because I usually see him listed at 185. Did RB sat anything about Seguin's current weight?

Update: OK I just read the more recent RB article, so never mind. I do still wonder about Seguin's reported 172 though.

Comments are closed for this article.