Preview of Coming Attractions

Lowetide
May 15 2011 08:59AM

The World Hockey Championships end today, opening the door for free agent signings. The Edmonton Oilers are reportedly active this spring--good news for Oiler fans.

The Edmonton Oilers pro scouting group have been getting poor reviews of late, but I think it's probably more a case of team management trying to solve problems by other means. The club used to be known for more subtle moves, like a small deal to acquire Jan Hejda (he cost a 7th rd pick) or minor signings of "unknowns" such as Toby Petersen or Patrick Thoresen. More recently, the club has spent dollars large (Nikolai Khabibulin) and small (Mike Comrie, Kurtis Foster) by casting their line in NHL free agent waters.

There's evidence today that the Oilers have returned to their roots.

We've discussed Viktor Fasth previously and it looks like the club has a chance to sign him. In an article written by Dan Barnes (here) we get this quote from the author:

  •  Fasth and his wife will become parents this summer for the first time and he apparently wants some guarantees of stability in the form of a oneway contract. In the absence of such a surety, he is reportedly ready to stay with AIK Stockholm, his current Elitserien team. As per the NHL agreement with the International Ice Hockey Federation, Fasth has until June 15 to sign with an NHL team.

Seems like there's some opportunity for the Oilers here. With Mr. Khabibulin's future somewhat in doubt (there is that Arizona parking ticket still unresolved) and Devan Dubnyk the only other signed option, surely there's some room for a one-way contract at the position. I'm heartened that the Oilers are interested and hopeful they sign him (or someone similar).

If the Oilers had enjoyed goaltending the calibre of Devan Dubnyk in all of their games last season, the club's record would very likely have been much better. There was a gap in performance (.916 to .890) a year ago, tightening up that trail number is vital to any improvement.

ESPOO!

 

There are also reports that the Oilers are interested in signing Finnish defender Ville Lajunen from Espoo Blues of the SM-Liiga. He's 23, 6.0, 185 and is considered a puck mover. The story is here. We don't really know what he'll look like as an NHL player, but let's run him through Gabriel Desjardins' NHLE to see what it says:

  • Age 20 NHLE 82gp, 8-11-19
  • Age 21 NHLE 82gp, 4-25-29
  • Age 22 NHLE 82gp, 5-13-18

He clearly had one spike season and then looks like there's some offensive ability in every season. According to elite prospects, he's "a right-handed defenseman with good hands and hockey sense. Plays an offense-first game and possesses a hard, yet not very accurate, point shot. Is an asset with the man advantage. Needs to improve his defensive-zone coverage and skating ability." Sounds like the modern Risto Siltanen!

The real story isn't Fasth or Lajunen but that the Oilers are back to looking under every rock and trying to find gems. The last couple of seasons, filled with retreads and also-rans, contributed to the disastrous back-to-back seasons endured by the team and the fanbase. Finding the next Jan Hejda appears to be much wiser than offering dollars to another Kurtis Foster.

Fasth may be superior to Nikolai Khabibulin right now, Lajunen might be capable of stepping in and replacing someone on the current blue depth chart. As far as I know, the same pro scouts who found Jan Hejda walk the halls of the Oilers offices to this day. Let these men do their jobs, and leave the overpaying to New York's Rangers.

This is a good sign.

C2a6955161684b5e3189319acfa5ebe4
Lowetide has been one of the Oilogosphere's shining lights for over a century. You can check him out here at OilersNation and at lowetide.ca. He is also the host of Lowdown with Lowetide weekday mornings 10-noon on Team 1260.
Avatar
#1 Woodguy
May 15 2011, 09:01AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
9
cheers

Fasth!

The Edmonton Oilers pro scouting group have been getting poor reviews of late

That's like saying a restaurant that was shut down for serving raw chicken and poisoning its customers was getting "poor reviews"

There are also reports that the Oilers are interested in signing Finnish defender Ville Lajunen....he's "a right-handed defenseman

If the Oiler's sign a RH Finn Dman, then there is hope for aquisition staff (euro aquisition at least) The Oilers need a good RH Dman, and Finns win.

If they sign both of these guys, that would be fantastic. The UFA RH Dman group falls off quickly after Bieksa this year.

Fasth may be superior to Nikolai Khabibulin right now

Talk about faint praise. Richard Sevigny may be superior to NK right now.

Sounds like the modern Risto Siltanen!

Haha! Risto had an amazing shot. You were also amazed if he hit the net 2 of 3 times.

I really love a good edit button.

Avatar
#2 Archaeologuy
May 15 2011, 09:10AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers

I dont know that the Oil need an Offense-first defender until they find a couple more that arent pylons in their own zone. Although if a guy like Strudwick retires then theres an open spot for a guy to play 30-35 games situationaly.

Avatar
#3 CanaDave
May 15 2011, 12:35PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers

I can't understand the logic of people who want to get rid of Smid, especially when many of those people talk about how drafting Larsson would be a mistake due to d-men taking a longer time to develop than forwards. Laddy was a top 10 pick who's already played for 3 very different head coaches here and has 5 years of NHL experience at age 25. He's also been the guy that's been moved around to cover for injuries and I feel like if Peckham-Smid were put together and kept together for an extended period the Oilers could have the shutdown pairing they need for 6-8 seasons.

I don't have a problem at with trying to move Gilbert for some forward depth, because he's got to have value to a fair number of NHL teams who want more scoring on the back end. I agree that Petry is going to be a more talented version of Gilbert barring injuries or setbacks, and if Petry is ready to go and if trading Gilbert brought back Dominic Moore and Pavel Kubina (or players similar in nature) then that's a trade I think ST should very seriously consider.

I just hope that whatever moves internationally the Oilers plan on making that they make them Fasth.

Avatar
#4 David S
May 15 2011, 03:52PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers

Why are we talking about Foster here as part of next year's squad? Did you not see how god awful he was last year? Including Foster there's at least a half-dozen boat anchors on this team right now. Maybe Tom Gilbert isn't a favorite, but you're drinking 170 proof if you think he should go before that pylon.

Avatar
#5 Next up, is Connor McJesus.
May 15 2011, 04:07PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers

LT, any indication yet if Steve is gonna tank it for another year or is the bleeding over?

Avatar
#6 Ca$h-Money!
May 15 2011, 05:38PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers

Gilbert was fine on the first pairing when paired with Whitney, the problem was Whitney got hurt and Gilbert doesn't have what it takes to play the #1 role on a team with a bunch of rookie forwards who don't know how to play defence.

Smid is a good player when he is paired with an offence first guy: he is terrible when paired with a defensive defender. Pair Smid with Petry: he's good. Pair Smid with Peckham, he's bad. Petry is too inexperienced for the top 4 role though, so that is where our gap is

Peckham is a good 5-6 guy who can throw big hits, we don't have many guys on this team who can do that.

So:

Whitney/Gilbert Smid/BIG GAP Petry/Peckham

The gap on D is a second pairing offence first d-man. Wisniewki/Erhoff are the best free agents to fill that role.

Also, there is a problem if anyone gets hurt, and it's fair to say at least 2 of the top 6 will be hurt at any given time.

Avatar
#7 edmontoncritic - BRoadwAY
May 16 2011, 11:05AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
1
cheers
jr_christ wrote:

one thing for sure, we are too young to be anywhere near the play offs.

Watching the first games of the east/west finals kind of depressed me. We are not even close to that calibre of hockey.

This comment will seem ridiculous but I think oiler fan might under-appreciate Hall and Ebs. You have 2 CLUTCH supremely young players. Toews had 54 pts in his 1st season, not exactly lighting it up but has now become one if the greatest leaders in the NHL. Hall has that potential to be able to step up when it really matters. See...BxB mem cup MVPs. Mr.Eberle, well we know his desire for roof daddy backhands in the dying seconds.

Although i agree that the oilers arent quite there yet, I dont think the core is too far off. How many games did Hall and Ebs play together this year?? 40? Ebs was out for 10-12 then Hallsy, we havent even seen our team together for a long stretch. Im pumped to see everyone together again....granted depth needs to be expanded and yes they need some quality vets to teach the boys

Avatar
#8 DonovanMD
May 15 2011, 09:07AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Woodguy wrote:

Fasth!

The Edmonton Oilers pro scouting group have been getting poor reviews of late

That's like saying a restaurant that was shut down for serving raw chicken and poisoning its customers was getting "poor reviews"

There are also reports that the Oilers are interested in signing Finnish defender Ville Lajunen....he's "a right-handed defenseman

If the Oiler's sign a RH Finn Dman, then there is hope for aquisition staff (euro aquisition at least) The Oilers need a good RH Dman, and Finns win.

If they sign both of these guys, that would be fantastic. The UFA RH Dman group falls off quickly after Bieksa this year.

Fasth may be superior to Nikolai Khabibulin right now

Talk about faint praise. Richard Sevigny may be superior to NK right now.

Sounds like the modern Risto Siltanen!

Haha! Risto had an amazing shot. You were also amazed if he hit the net 2 of 3 times.

I really love a good edit button.

Well played sir.

Avatar
#10 Bicepus Maximus - Huge fan boy!
May 15 2011, 09:27AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Lowetide wrote:

I think we'll see some movement on the backline this summer. Whitney and Peckham are definitely going to return, but a change of scenery for Smid and Gilbert is possible. Should the Oilers deal Gilbert, it opens up a spot similar to the one this young Finn could fill (although he wouldn't be able to cover all of Gilbert's minutes as a rookie).

I think the Oilers will try to pick up a defensemen with a complete skill set and use Whitney and that player to anchor the blue on different pairings. Plus Petry will get elevated time, possibly with Whitney.

Why do you think there's a chance of Gilbert being dealt? Smid - I somewhat understand, seeing how many romours have surrounded him in the past. But Gilbert?

Also, in regards to signing the offensive-minded d-men: I don't care if it's offense or defense first for any players we sign, as long as those players are of some quality! Foster and Fraser are the exact opposite of quality.

And Frasth - every year (it seems like) there's a free agent goalie getting much attention overseas. None have been the real deal so far. Just sayin.

Avatar
#11 DangerMan
May 15 2011, 09:36AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

The Oilers have some holes on D, thats for dang sure. Gotta find a way to patch those holes up and if this is the best way to do it, then so be it. Offensive first Dmen, the Oilers could use a waterbug type. With the way the team is being built, the Oilers really need puck movers on the backend, be it through passing or skating.

Avatar
#13 DangerMan
May 15 2011, 09:39AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Lowetide

I don't think they move Gilbert yet, not until they figure out exactly what Petry is. I think Gilbert gets at least one more year. Smid, on the other hand....this team is filled with 5-6 Dmen, time to cull the herd.

Avatar
#14 Krusher
May 15 2011, 09:43AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Lowetide

Gilbert dealt? Serious!? Christmas can come in June then. That would be a minor miracle to dump "Mr.Marshmallow" and his inflated contract. Please don't tease me, lol.

Avatar
#15 DBO
May 15 2011, 09:49AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

The past 3 years we have talked almost non stop about our lack of actual NHL calibre players. Our depth in the Org has been lacking until recently, and while it is showing promise, there is a lack of "experienced" depth. Adding a few younger veterans from Europe is a great idea, especially if it allows us to wait on some prospects that could use a bit more time in the minors.

Adding from Europe is a cheaper option, and if they are in the 22-27 yr old range, then they can blend in with the age groups within the dressing room and grow along with the rest of the core.

Add a goalie, a dman and a forward who have more experience then the youth we have just drafted, and at least we allow our young depth to earn the right to be called up, instead of just forcing them into roles for which they may not be prepared.

Avatar
#16 OilFan
May 15 2011, 10:38AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I'm with Lowetide on the Gilbert trade. I've heard Gilbert wasn't going to be back next season well before the deadline.

Avatar
#17 Shane
May 15 2011, 10:51AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

LT: What do you think the Oil would be fetching in return for Gibby or in other words what would be fair value? Does his contract work for or against us in a trade? 4mil until 2014 I think?

Avatar
#18 madjam
May 15 2011, 10:52AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I believe the Oilers will require a centerman much more physical than Hopkins can provide for Hall and Eberle. Hopkins might be better off with Pajaarvi to be honest . The high risk factor with Hopkins on the Oilers is more than i like to see . If we were already a big physical club it wouldn't be so risky .

Avatar
#20 DangerMan
May 15 2011, 11:06AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Shane

I would think it would be against us. He's coming off a down year. Debatable #2...probably a #3-4 Dman now. He needs to find the 40 point range again to give himself some value.

I would see him now going in a salary for salary type deal. Lemme put it this way...I don't think he's going to be the focal point in a deal involving Bogosian.

Avatar
#21 ray
May 15 2011, 11:11AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I say get rid of Gilbert!!..155 pound men play stronger in the corners.

Avatar
#22 DangerMan
May 15 2011, 11:14AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Lowetide

Adding another Ryan Whitney isn't all that easy. Tom Gilbert right now is a poor man's Ryan Whitney coming off of a down year. Room for improvement is there, but I understand why people are frusterated with Gilbert.

I guess its the evil you know against the evil you don't know. This is Steve Tambellini we are talking about...I expect him to do very little as usual, so him giving the defense a whole new face lift by only keeping 4 of 7 Dmen (Whitney, Peckham, Petry and Foster) seems like quite the departure for ST.

I somewhat agree with what you are saying, I would like improvements on the D, but for some reason if they dump Gilbert, it will be for less return.

Avatar
#24 madjam
May 15 2011, 11:39AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Making defence better makes sense ,but how to do that with upgrades is the question . We appear to have little expertise when it comes to evaluating the talent we already have , and even less success in procurring better talent in any market . Gilbert is one of only a few on backend that appear somewhat reliable and at least healthy through most of year . Going to other markets outside normal ones for most, shows how bad and narrow our marketplace has become to procur any talents . Desperate to say the least . Doubtfull much good will become of it .

Avatar
#25 DangerMan
May 15 2011, 11:41AM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

@Lowetide

Right now I have...

Whitney-XXXXX Peckham-Gilbert XXXXXX-Petry Foster

Bogosian would be a coup. He'd play with Whitney and the top 4 would be set. If you want to rush Petry into the top pairing, thats fine, but probably won't get the desired result, at least not immediately, and yes the top 4, collectively, would be a little soft. Petry will likely supplant Gilbert once he's ready to go, but I don't think he's ready yet.

And yes, the Oilers could use a rugged Dman that can play in the top 4. There's one playing Hershey that could be passable in the mean time.

Avatar
#27 K
May 15 2011, 12:02PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Bieksa? Sounds like we've been describing him this whole time...

Avatar
#28 ItsTheBGB
May 15 2011, 12:19PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

If only we had a shot at Christian Ehrhoff.

Avatar
#29 K
May 15 2011, 12:24PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Or both

Avatar
#30 Wax Man Riley
May 15 2011, 12:39PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Both Bieksa and Ehrhoff would have to be highly overpaid in order to come here over re-signing in Vancouver, or signing to any of the other 25 teams that will have the cap space for them.

They already made $3.75M and $3.1M respectively. Signing 1 would probably be in the $4.5m+ range.

Too much? Not in my opinion. For Edmonton though, it might have to be in the $5.5M range... that may be too much.

Wisniewski is another guy I would love to see with an Oildrop on his chest... he may come to Edmonton in the 4.0M range.

Avatar
#31 K
May 15 2011, 12:51PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I agree we would have to pay more then van but I wouldn't say that's an overpayment. 5.5 for Ehrhoff? Heck yes. Bieksa.. Not so much. Wisnieski would be awsome but I think bieksas better. I think both Jon erickson and Wisnieski will get around 3.7 next year And I'd rather have erickson.

Avatar
#32 K
May 15 2011, 12:53PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

What do people think of Keith Ballard? He's not being used in van but if they want to resign ehrhoff and bieksa he might need to be moved

Avatar
#33 David Staples
May 15 2011, 01:04PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

I agree with your logic in trading Gilbert, in that his skills are replicated by Petry. That said, why trade any dman? An NHL team needs many dmen to succeed and the more good and experienced ones, the better. So why give up on Gilbert and Smidgen just as they are gaining the experience to really start keeping their own heads above water. I know you are no Gilbert bashed, and it is evident he was a good player on a bad team last year, so why move him? He can help this team win. As for Smid, he is two different players. When he is healthy and unconcussed , he looks like a solid NHL defender to me. If the argument, though, is that he will never be healthy, I get that point of view. For me, the key is finding a way to dump the real non performers, namely Foster, Vandermeer, and Strudwick.

Avatar
#34 R.A. Slapshotzky
May 15 2011, 01:07PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Del Zotto still on the map? Burns available?

Avatar
#35 R.A. Slapshotzky
May 15 2011, 01:12PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Just hopped over to the HF boards via Oilogosphere and was reading up on Oscar Klefbom, the Swedish Dman. He sounds like the defense version of Landeskog this year.

Someone mentioned Brodin and Klefbom at #19, and #31. Wow, that would be enough Swedes in the pipeline/team...Detroit west...lol

Avatar
#36 gcw
May 15 2011, 01:29PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Lowetide wrote:

I think they'll deal Gilbert and Smid in an effort to acquire a more complete talent. Someone you can plug into the top 4D without worrying.

A young veteran with a nice range of skills. A guy who can help some offensively but isn't a PP expert. Remember Jaroslav Spacek when he came into his own in the NHL? Solid defensive player who can move the puck efficiently and help on the PP as needed.

I think the Oilers need to add another Ryan Whitney.

What about Gilbert to NYI for Wishart? A little young (about 20 games NHL expereince) but the right profile otherwise and the Isles struggle to meet the cap and need to show Tavares they are trying to win....

Avatar
#37 @Oilanderp
May 15 2011, 02:43PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Still want Viktor Fasth?

He's doing a nice Mike Liut impression in the championship game.

Avatar
#38 spOILer
May 15 2011, 02:46PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

There are a few problems with the Oilers D. Neither Whitney nor Gilbert are known for their shot or their sandpaper.

They are both, however, actual NHL players and could be useful guys with the right complements. Someone who can hit, shoot, play with strength, create a little fear. And other than Petry we have no point shot on the PP right now among the blue-liners.

Whatever moves the Oil make with Smid and Gilbert will depend on what they think Petry can handle, and how close guys like Marincin and Teubert are (they have to be at least another year, don't they?).

Ideally we swing a deal for Bogosian who is all those things we need: mobile, strong, hits, shoots. And ideally we would find some way to keep the better NHL players we have. But we do have to consider that Gilbert has value and is going to be offered. And Smid will certainly be available, as well as Brule.

I don't think we will see a deal like Smid, Brule and the 18th for Bogo because I think ATL could probably find a better player in return. Like Semin or maybe one of SJS' forwards. Hemsky would have to be desired by them and in play.

I'm not sure what a deal including Smid and Gilbert would bring. They would have to go to a team needing D depth like NJD or SJS, but such teams don't have D to trade back... that's why it's a need.

Finding a straight across for Gilbert where we give up some offence in return for some defence, could be tough to find and still leaves the PP weak.

We should be focusing on teams who have an excess of Dmen who are looking for scoring. Or a team looking to trade a superfluous expensive Dman for cheaper help.

Like NAS, who also happens to be missing a first round pick. I'd bet considering what they're going to have to pay Weber, Suter and Rinne over the next couple of years that we could get in a conversation for Franson. Y'know if the mandate wasn't to draft our way out of this mess and if Tambi wasn't sleeping with that draft pick securely tucked under his pillow every night.

Avatar
#40 Sean
May 15 2011, 03:28PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

What about Gilbert to Nashville for Ryan Ellis and a pick?

Avatar
#41 spOILer
May 15 2011, 03:36PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Ellis does not have a wider range of skills than Gilbert. Downgrade for size and strength. And Nashville won't be looking to add salary on the back end. Bad deal for both sides, IMO.

Avatar
#42 Sean
May 15 2011, 03:56PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

sorry spOILer but in my opinion Gilbert doesnt come close to Ellis in offensive ability.Ellis would be a great quarterback on the PP.I do agree with you though that Nashville would not want Gilberts contract.But damm I really would love to see Ellis on the Oil AND he has good chemistry with Hall.

Avatar
#43 Kevin
May 15 2011, 04:16PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
madjam wrote:

I believe the Oilers will require a centerman much more physical than Hopkins can provide for Hall and Eberle. Hopkins might be better off with Pajaarvi to be honest . The high risk factor with Hopkins on the Oilers is more than i like to see . If we were already a big physical club it wouldn't be so risky .

Yes, no kidding ! so having said that the OIL will likely add another smurf to the line up of marshmellows and wonder why they continue to finish last. I'll say it again ST and KL have to go. This talk about Jagr too is making me sick to the stomach. This is quite a gong show let me tell you ! Drafting Hokins is fine but they better be moving other smaller bodies. This team has a top nine that should be name after the scotties soft tissues. Well ,ST is still assessing. Oh and NHL please keep the dessert dogs in Phoenix- I'll need a team to cheer for when I get down there for the winters.

Avatar
#45 spOILer
May 15 2011, 04:19PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Oh, there's a pretty good chance Ellis' offence will come in higher than Gilbert's, but that doesn't give him a wider range of skills, which was my point and the point of LT's article. So sorry back.

Avatar
#46 dawgbone
May 15 2011, 04:35PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers

Am I the only one who has some serious questions about Fasth?

He literally came out of nowhere this season to be the best goaltender in the SEL. He's got no history of play anywhere near this level and it's not like he's 22 years old (where maybe he got buried on a team for a few years).

Is the goaltender that you sign now the same guy who just dominated the SEL, or is he going to be the guy who toiled in lower leagues for years?

I understand hedging your bets in terms of goaltending (especially with Khabibulin on your team), but I'm not sure this is the guy.

Avatar
#48 DangerMan
May 15 2011, 05:40PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Lowetide wrote:

I'm encouraged by the words recently from the players. Whitney, Horcoff, Hall and Eberle have all mentioned they think the club needs more veterans to help show the kids how it's done and that may mean a tighter timeline.

We'll know soon imo. If they start signing some of these Euro free agents there's going to be movement on the big club.

The Penner deal didn't do much to diminish my frusteration with the org. By July 3rd we'll know exactly where this team is heading...again...for another year anyways. We'll see what they pull out of the oven.

Avatar
#49 Bicepus Maximus - Huge fan boy!
May 15 2011, 05:58PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
David S wrote:

Why are we talking about Foster here as part of next year's squad? Did you not see how god awful he was last year? Including Foster there's at least a half-dozen boat anchors on this team right now. Maybe Tom Gilbert isn't a favorite, but you're drinking 170 proof if you think he should go before that pylon.

QFT.... and props!

I can't stand the Gilbert-is-soft-and-I-want-him-gone bandwagoneers!

Avatar
#50 @Oilanderp
May 15 2011, 06:44PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Cheers
0
cheers
Lowetide wrote:

I'd say the larger sample size of an SEL season is a better measure than one game. How many goals did he let in?

I believe the final score was 6-1. Fasth didn't play that bad actually. He let in one bad goal but the game was pretty much over by then. Sweden's defense was absolutely atrocious, uncovered men everywhere. Proper training if he (Fasth) ever became an Oiler. At least Paajarvi got a goal and was +1.

Oh yeah, on the subject of european free agents... how 'bout that Salavat Yulaev Ufa skater that tied Paajarvi for 2nd on the team in scoring with 7 pts in 9 games? One Robert Nilsson. Sign him, Tamby!

Comments are closed for this article.