Remenda Returns as Sportsnet Announces Exclusive Oilers Coverage

As we near the start of the 2016-2017 season, Sportsnet has announced where Oilers fans can go to catch all the action this season. 

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

What’s this about?

TV

This season, the Oilers will have all 82 games broadcast on Sportsnet, with 37 national games as well as 45 regional games. Compared to last season, the Oilers will recieve one more nationally broadcast game than last year. 

Returning to the broadcasting booth will be Kevin Quinn calling play-by-play, while Drew Remenda offers his insight as the game analyst. Gene Principe will also return to his throne as game host and ice level reporter, while Louie Debrusk and Mark Spector provide additional commentary during intermissions and breaks. 

Taylor Hall’s return to Edmonton which will be broadcast on Sportsnet West on Thursday, January 12th. 

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Some highlights from this season’s upcoming broadcasts include:

– The Oilers and Jets squaring off in the 2016 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic on Sunday, Oct. 23 (national broadcast on Sportsnet).

– 15 Hockey Night in Canada matchups, which include back-to-back Saturday matchups against the Calgary Flames. 

– Five Sunday appearances on Rogers Hometown Hockey.

The Oilers season kicks with a back-to-back home and away series against the Calgary Flames on October 12 and 14, while the season wraps up with another back-to-back home and away series against the Vancouver Canucks on April 8 and 9. 

Let’s hope by the end of the season the Oilers will be in a position to push for the playoffs. 

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Here is the full broadcast schedule for the upcoming season: 

October:

· Wednesday, Oct. 12, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Friday, Oct. 14, Edmonton @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

· Sunday, Oct. 16, Buffalo @ Edmonton, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

· Tuesday, Oct. 18, Carolina @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

· Thursday, Oct. 20, St. Louis @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic, Edmonton @ Winnipeg, 1 p.m. MDT / 3 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Wednesday, Oct. 26, Washington @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MDT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

· Friday, Oct. 28, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

· Sunday, Oct. 30, Ottawa @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

November:

· Tuesday, Nov. 1, Edmonton @ Toronto, 5:30 p.m. MDT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Nov. 3, Edmonton @ N.Y. Rangers, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

· Saturday, Nov. 5, Edmonton @ N.Y. Islanders, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, Nov. 6, Edmonton @ Detroit, 3 p.m. MST / 5 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Tuesday, Nov. 8, Edmonton @ Pittsburgh, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Nov. 11, Dallas @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Sunday, Nov. 13, N.Y. Rangers @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

· Tuesday, Nov. 15, Edmonton @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Nov. 17, Edmonton @ Los Angeles, 8:30 p.m. MST / 10:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

· Saturday, Nov. 19, Edmonton @ Dallas, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, Nov. 21, Chicago @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Wednesday, Nov. 23, Edmonton @ Colorado, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Nov. 25, Edmonton @ Arizona, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Sunday, Nov. 27, Arizona @ Edmonton, 1 p.m. MST / 3 p.m. Et (National – Sportsnet)

· Tuesday, Nov. 29, Toronto @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

December:

· Thursday, Dec. 1, Edmonton @ Winnipeg, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Saturday, Dec. 3, Anaheim @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, Dec. 4, Minnesota @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

· Tuesday, Dec. 6, Edmonton @ Buffalo, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Dec. 8, Edmonton @ Philadelphia, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Friday, Dec. 9, Edmonton @ Minnesota, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Sunday, Dec. 11, Winnipeg @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Tuesday, Dec. 13, Columbus @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Dec. 17, Tampa Bay @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, Dec. 19, Edmonton @ St. Louis, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, Dec. 21, Edmonton @ Arizona, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

· Friday, Dec. 23, Edmonton @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MST / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Dec. 29, Los Angeles @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Dec. 31, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

January:

· Tuesday, Jan. 3, Edmonton @ Columbus, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Jan. 5, Edmonton @ Boston, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Saturday, Jan. 7, Edmonton @ New Jersey, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, Jan. 8, Edmonton @ Ottawa, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Tuesday, Jan. 10, San Jose @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Jan. 12, New Jersey @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Jan. 14, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, Jan. 16, Arizona @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, Jan. 18, Florida @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

· Friday, Jan. 20, Nashville @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Jan. 21, Edmonton @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Wednesday, Jan. 25, Edmonton @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Jan. 26, Edmonton @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MST / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Tuesday, Jan. 31, Minnesota @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

February:

· Thursday, Feb. 2, Edmonton @ Nashville, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Feb. 3, Edmonton @ Carolina, 5:30 p.m. MST / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Sunday, Feb. 5, Edmonton @ Montreal, 11 a.m. MST / 1 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Saturday, Feb. 11, Chicago @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, Feb. 14, Arizona @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Feb. 16, Philadelphia @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Feb. 18, Edmonton @ Chicago, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada)

· Tuesday, Feb. 21, Edmonton @ Tampa Bay, 5:30 p.m. MST / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, Feb. 22, Edmonton @ Florida, 5:30 p.m. MST / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Feb. 24, Edmonton @ Washington, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Sunday, Feb. 26, Edmonton @ Nashville, 3 p.m. MST / 5 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

· Tuesday, Feb. 28, Edmonton @ St. Louis, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

March:

· Saturday, March 4, Detroit @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, March 7, N.Y. Islanders @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Friday, March 10, Pittsburgh @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Sunday, March 12, Montreal @ Edmonton, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

· Tuesday, March 14, Dallas @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, March 16, Boston @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, March 18, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, March 20, Los Angeles @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, March 22, Edmonton @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, March 23, Edmonton @ Colorado, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, March 25, Colorado @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, March 28, Los Angeles @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, March 30, San Jose @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

April:

· Saturday, April 1, Anaheim @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, April 4, Edmonton @ Los Angeles, 8:30 p.m. MDT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, April 6, Edmonton @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MDT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, April 8, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, April 9, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)


WATER FIGHT FOR THE ICCP

ICCP 

Our friends at the Inner City Children’s Program will be hosting a family friendly water fight in an effort to raise money to help them provide for youth at risk. 

When? Saturday, September 17, 2016

What time? Gates and Registration at 12:00 pm — Fight Time at 2:00 pm

Where? NAIT Soccer Field (Kingsway Avenue) – Rain or Shine

Tickets:  

  • $10/person for a wristband and water access 
  • $25/person for a “Premium Fight Package” which will include fight supplies such as water balloons, a bucket and other swag TBD 
  • $225/group of 10 “Premium Fight Packages” 
  • $15/person at the door

All proceeds go to support the ICCP, who have provided programs to Edmonton’s inner city children since 1995. Get your tickets to the big water fight here.


  • socaldave

    F***ing Drew “I have a sharks tattoo on my bald white arse” f***ing Remenda??? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? He is, WITHOUT EXCEPTION, the WORST colourman this side of the f***ing universe!

    And if you DARE rip on Gene, you’re just a terrible person who probably pinches babies and kicks puppies. GENE PRINCIPE IS A NATIONAL GOD DAMN TREASURE.

    And while I’m at it, BOOOOOOOOOOO BAGGEDMILK

  • Shameless Plugger

    Really? Another season of San Jose Drew? I guess I’ll be watching most games on mute this year. I’m sure he’s a nice guy, but he’s brutal at colour commentary.

  • Borbs

    Let’s hope Remenda remembers to stay impartial. Even visitor broadcasts shouldn’t bash the home team as much as that clown does. And something else to remember, all San Jose games should be watched with Jack and Bob’s radio call. Drew hasn’t been able to cut ties with the Sharks, judging by the way he gushes over them every time the Oil play them. Almost makes me miss Mark Lee. Well, o.k., maybe not! lol!

    A sidenote to this: cheering for the Oilers was especially tough in Hinton during the 90’s. Al Nagy was by far the worst play-by-play guy there ever was. Local radio only picked up one game a week. So you either toughed it out with Al, or watched on mute!

  • BornInAGretzkyJersey

    Personally, I miss the old TSN coverage by James Duthie, Bob Mackenzie and Ray Ferraro. Those guys have absolutely perfected the art of hockey broadcasting. Witty, irreverent and insightful commentary that’s as fun to hear as it is to watch being delivered.

  • Corbs

    Remenda is the worst broadcaster we have had since Al Nagy. He makes the games almost unbearable to watch. The alternative of turning off the volume and turning on Jack Michaels is only slightly better as he sucks too. Sportsnet’s hockey coverage sucks!!!!