Photo Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Kris Russell is the Edmonton Oilers’ nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The list of players nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy was announced on Monday.

The award, which is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, is given to the player who β€œbest exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication.”

Edmonton’s nominee is Kris Russell, who became the NHL’s all-time leader in blocked shots back in November.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The soon-to-be 35-year-old Russell has appeared in 29 games for the Oilers this season, scoring two goals and seven points while blocking 66 shots. Russell is an unrestricted free agent at the end of this season and has played in 910 games over the course of his career.

Last year, the award was won by Oskar Lindblom of the Philadelphia Flyers after he returned to play following a successful battle with bone cancer.

Below is the full list of nominees…

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Anaheim Ducks – F Ryan Getzlaf

Arizona Coyotes – F Andrew Ladd

Boston Bruins – F Jake DeBrusk

Buffalo Sabres – F Kyle Okposo

Calgary Flames – D Chris Tanev

Carolina Hurricanes – G Antti Raanta

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Chicago Blackhawks – F Dylan Strome

Colorado Avalanche – D Jack Johnson

Columbus Blue Jackets – F Justin Danforth

Dallas Stars – F Tyler Seguin

Detroit Red Wings – D Marc Staal

Edmonton Oilers – D Kris Russell

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Florida Panthers – F Anthony Duclair

Los Angeles Kings – F Blake Lizotte

Minnesota Wild – D Jared Spurgeon

Montreal Canadiens – G Carey Price

Nashville Predators – D Mark Borowiecki

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

New Jersey Devils – F Nico Hischier

New York Islanders – D Zdeno Chara

New York Rangers – F Chris Kreider

Ottawa Senators – G Anton Forsberg

Philadelphia Flyers – F Kevin Hayes

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Pittsburgh Penguins – F Brian Boyle

St Louis Blues – F Vladimir Tarasenko

San Jose Sharks – D Brent Burns

Seattle Kraken – F Jaden Schwartz

Tampa Bay Lightning – F Alex Killorn

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Toronto Maple Leafs – F Ondrej Kase

Vancouver Canucks – D Luke Schenn

Vegas Golden Knights – F Jack Eichel

Washington Capitals – F Nicklas Backstrom

Winnipeg Jets – D Josh Morrissey

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below