15

Chris Cuthbert, Craig Simpson to call Edmonton Oilers, Calgary Flames series

The Edmonton Oilers and Calgary Flames are in for a treat.

With the two teams destined for a second-round matchup, Sportsnet has assigned Chris Cuthbert and Craig Simpson for play-by-play and colour commentary.

Chris Cuthbert in my eyes is the best hockey play-by-play broadcaster out there, so this is a massive win for Albertan hockey fans. Simpson, too, has been a solid colour voice for a long time. It’s a true treat that we’ll get to listen to these two.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

As I mentioned last night, the series games breakdown as follows:

G1 Wed., May 18 Edmonton @ Calgary, 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT SN & CBC
G2 Fri., May 20 Edmonton @ Calgary, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT SN & CBC
G3 Sun., May 22 Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. / 5 p.m. PT SN & CBC
G4 Tues., May 24 Calgary @ Edmonton, 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT SN & CBC
G5* Thurs., May 26 Edmonton @ Calgary, TBD TBD
G6* Sat., May 28 Calgary @ Edmonton, TBD TBD
G7* Mon., May 30 Edmonton @ Calgary, TBD TBD

Cuthbert has worked for a variety of broadcasting organizations throughout his career working for CTV, NBC and TSN, but joined Sportsnet in June 2020. Last year, he called the Montreal Canadiens’ playoff run, and did the Cup Finals alongside Simpson.

Playoff hockey in Alberta. Wild times.


Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at [email protected]

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below