Now before we break down the preseason GDB for tonight’s game against the Canucks understand that we attended the game against the Bolts on Thursday. Since that time we have been in self imposed exile. We must refrain from squeeing mightily all over the interwebs and have decided to reserve judgement until we can attend tonight’s game as well.

Logic must triumph for the time being.

Gregor has assisted mightily in our cause, calling us out already once in the last GDB for being too filled with joy and then graciously bowing out from writing today’s GDB.

The text messages went like this:

Gregor: Can you write today’s GDB?

Wanye: No, I’m on an island of reserving judgement. I can’t write anything until Monday for fear of breaking my own heart.

Gregor: It’s a preseason game and you are an idiot. I have actual grown up things to do.

Wanye: But what if I start to write something and it just decends into squealing joyously?

This was the last text that passed between us at about 10 AM this morning. We are sure Gregor is probably birthing calves, raking hay or cutting seed potatoes for next year’s crop.

A real gentleman farmer our Gregor is.


The Oilers (2-0) play the Canucks (1-3-0) tonight at Rexall Place.

According to the Oilers website:

"Taylor Hall is slated to skate with fellow rookie Jordan Eberle and veteran Shawn Horcoff. Hall is comfortable with his linemates and is looking forward to his second pre-season test.Gilbert Brule is equally eager to skate with Linus Omark and Dustin Penner tonight."

Of course the real story line tonight will be that Nikolai Khabibulin will start in goal tonight. We would love to opine on the topics of his spine and liver but that goes against everything we stand for on today, the GDB of logic.



Taylor Hall (4) – Shawn Horcoff (10) – Jordan Eberle (14)

Dustin Penner (27) – Gilbert Brule (67) – Linus Omark (23)

Alexandre Giroux (12) – Jared Aulin (47) – Ben Ondrus (25)

Teemu Hartikainen (56) – Chris Vande Velde (54) – Zack Stortini

(46) Ryan Whitney (6) – Jeff Petry (58)

Jim Vandermeer (2) – Theo Peckham (49)

Jason Strudwick (43) – Johan Motin (39)

Nikolai Khabibulin (35)

Martin Gerber (29)


Mason Raymond (21) – Ryan Kesler (17) – Mikael Samuelsson (26)

Raffi Torres (13) – Manny Malhotra (27) – Victor Oreskovich (38)

Bill Sweatt (42) – Cody Hodgson (39) – Sergei Shirokov (25)

Aaron Volpatti (54) – Mario Bliznak (62) – Prab Rai (43)

Keith Ballard (4) – Kevin Bieksa (3)

Nolan Baumgartner (44) – Aaron Rome (29)

Shane O’Brien (55) – Lee Sweatt (57)

Kevin Connauton (61) – Chris Zimmerman (45)

Cory Schneider (35)

Tyler Weiman (30)


Good luck to the Oilers. They seemed to be quite the ice hockey squad last game.