Edmonton Oilers Announce Next Round of Cuts

The Edmonton Oilers have announced their next round of cuts, sending nine players directly to the Bakersfield Condors of the AHL– Tyler Benson (LW), Cameron Hebig (C/LW), Caleb Jones (D), Kirill Maksimov (RW), Cooper Marody (C), Ryan McLeod, Anthony Peluso (LW/RW), Dmitri Samorukov (D), and Dylan Wells (G)– while placing another four on waivers with the purpose of assigning them to Bakersfield was well– Josh Currie (RW), Joseph Gambardella (LW), Keegan Lowe (D), Brad Malone (C).

The Oilers had a rough outing last night, losing an ugly 6-1 loss to the @Vancouver Canucks on Rogers ice, dropping their record in the 2019 NHL preseason to 1-2.

These latest round of cuts leaves the preseason roster at 33 players: 19 forwards, 11 defencemen, and 3 goaltenders.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The team will try to rebound tonight when they take on the @Calgary Flames at Rogers Place, after of which there will surely be some more culling of the training camp roster herd.

Puck drops at 7pm and can be seen on the Oilers website, Twitter, and Youtube pages.