Photo Credit: Eric Bolte-USA TODAY Sports

Edmonton Oilers Connor McDavid, Tyson Barrie receive Lady Byng votes

Edmonton Oilers Connor McDavid and Tyson Barrie each received votes for the Lady Byng Trophy.

The award, which is annually handed out to “the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,” was won by Carolina Hurricanes defenceman Jaccob Slavin. He took only one penalty, a puck over glass call, all season.

But a few Oilers found their way onto the voting lists.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Connor McDavid received one first-place votes, a third-place vote, and a fifth-place vote landing him 20th in voting.

Teammate Tyson Barrie, meanwhile, received one third-place vote, a fourth-place vote and three fifth-place votes landing him 32nd in voting.

Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at [email protected]