Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid wins Hart Trophy, Ted Lindsay award

Photo credit:Eric Bolte-USA TODAY Sports
Zach Laing
2 years ago
Surprise! Just kidding, nobody should be surprised by this news.
Connor McDavid has been named the winner of the Hart Trophy as the league’s most valuable player to his team and the winner of the Ted Lindsay award as the most outstanding player in the league, as voted on by the players.
McDavid blew the league out of the water this season scoring 105 points in 56 games, 21 higher than his next closest competitor in teammate Leon Draisaitl. McDavid also topped the league in assists (72), power-play assists (28) and power-play points (37. He factored in an incredible 57.38 percent of the Oilers’ goals this year.
His league-leading 1.88 points per game were the most by any player since Mario Lemieux averaged 2.3 in the 1995-96 season.
McDavid now becomes the seventh player to receive the Ted Lindsay award three or more times in his career following Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr, Alex Ovechkin and Sidney Crosby.
For McDavid, it marks his second Hart Trophy in his six-year career. His first came in his second year in the league when he scored 30 goals, 70 assists and 100 points in 82 games.
He received 100 1st place votes for the Hart Trophy, a unanimous win for the Oilers captain. According to The Nation Network and DailyFaceoff’s Frank Seravalli, McDavid is the second player in league history to win a unanimous Hart Trophy joining Wayne Gretzky.

Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at zach@oilersnation.com.

Check out these posts...