Edmonton Oilers defenceman Darnell Nurse named King Clancy Memorial trophy nominee

Photo credit:Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports
Zach Laing
2 years ago
Edmonton Oilers defenceman Darnell Nurse has been named the teams’ nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.
The award is handed out annually to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice, and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.
Nominees are selected by their respective clubs. The winner, meanwhile, is chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives that is lead by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly.
Six things are taken into account when deciding upon a winner: clear and measurable positive impact on the community, investment of time and resources, commitment to a particular cause or community, commitment to the NHL’s community initiatives, the creativity of programming and use of influence; engagement of others.
Here’s the full list of nominees from each club:
The 2021-22 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees are: Ryan Getzlaf (Anaheim Ducks), Andrew Ladd (Arizona Coyotes), Nick Foligno (Boston Bruins), Jeff Skinner (Buffalo Sabres), Mikael Backlund (Calgary Flames), Jordan Staal (Carolina Hurricanes), Conor Murphy (Chicago Blackhawks), Nazem Kadri (Colorado Avalanche), Jack Roslovic (Columbus Blue Jackets), Jason Robertson (Dallas Stars), Alex Nedeljkovic (Detroit Red Wings), Nurse (Oilers), Aleksander Barkov (Florida Panthers), Cal Petersen (Los Angeles Kings), Matt Dumba (Minnesota Wild), Montreal Canadiens (Jake Allen), Luke Kunin (Nashville Predators), P.K. Subban (Devils), Anders Lee (New York Islanders), Chris Kreider (New York Rangers), Nick Holden (Ottawa Senators), Scott Laughton (Philadelphia Flyers), Bryan Rust (Pittsburgh Penguins), Matt Nieto (San Jose Sharks), Jaden Schwartz (Seattle Kraken), Ryan O’Reilly (St. Louis Blues), Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay Lightning), Wayne Simmonds (Toronto Maple Leafs), Bo Horvat (Vancouver Canucks), Max Pacioretty (Vegas Golden Knights), Garnet Hathaway (Washington Capitals), and Josh Morrissey (Winnipeg Jets).

Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at zach@oilersnation.com.

Check out these posts...