Other than Connor McDavid, four Oilers received votes for 2023 NHL Awards

Photo credit:Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports
Cam Lewis
8 months ago
Connor McDavid was the star of the 2023 NHL Awards as he took home the Art Ross Trophy, the Rocket Richard Trophy, the Hart Trophy, and the Ted Lindsay Award.
Other than McDavid, four members of the Edmonton Oilers received votes for awards for the 2022-23 season: Leon Draisaitl, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Stuart Skinner, and Jay Woodcroft.

Leon Draisaitl

For the fourth consecutive season, Leon Draisaitl received votes for the Hart Trophy. He won the award in 2019-20 and finished eighth in ninth in voting the following two seasons. This year, Draisaitl finished seventh in Hart voting, with four second-place votes, 12 third-place votes, and 21 fifth-place votes.
Draisaitl finished fourth in the league in goals with 52 and second in points with 128, the latter of which was a career-high. He finished second in All-Star voting among centres, behind only McDavid, and was named to the NHL’s Second All-Star Team. It’s Draisaitl’s second time being named to an NHL All-Star Team, as he was a First Team All-Star in 2019-20.
Also, for the third time in his career, Draisaitl received votes for the Lady Byng Trophy. He had 24 penalty minutes over 80 games this season and finished 21st in Byng voting.

Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

Speaking of the Lady Byng, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins received a second-place vote for the trophy following a season in which he set a career-high with 37 goals and 104 points while taking 35 penalty minutes.
Nugent-Hopkins also received a fourth- and a fifth-place vote for the Frank J. Selke Trophy and he finished third in All-Star voting for left-wingers, behind only Jason Robertson of the Dallas Stars and Artemi Panarin.
Nugent-Hopkins had received votes for awards just twice before in his NHL career. He was the runner-up to Gabriel Landeskog for the Calder Trophy in his rookie season and he received some Selke votes in 2019-20. He was also named to the NHL’s All-Rookie Team in 2011-12.

Stuart Skinner

Stuart Skinner was in contention to become the first Oiler ever to win the Calder Trophy but Matty Beniers of the Seattle Kraken wound up being named the league’s best rookie. Beniers picked up 160 first-place votes, Skinner came in second with 24, and Owen Power of the Buffalo Sabres placed third with nine.
Though Skinner didn’t receive any Vezina Trophy consideration or votes for the NHL’s First or Second All-Star Teams, he’ll surely be named to the All-Rookie Team. The Edmonton native posted a .913 save percentage and led all rookies with 29 wins.

Jay Woodcroft

Though he’s only been a head coach in the NHL for a year and a half, Jay Woodcroft has received some love for the Jack Adams Award twice now. He finished tied with Bruce Boudreau for 12th last season and jumped up to seventh this season with three second-place votes and two third-place votes.

Check out these posts...