2Edmonton Oilers Leon Draisaitl

Leon Draisaitl named Oilers nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy

This afternoon, the NHL announced the 31 nominees for the 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy with Leon Draisaitl being named the representative for the Edmonton Oilers.

Each year, the NHL awards the King Clancy Memorial Trophy to the player “who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.” So what exactly does one have to do to receive the nomination? Here’s the breakdown from the NHL.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The selection committee applies the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner of the award:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community

  • Investment of time and resources

  • Commitment to a particular cause or community

  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives

  • Creativity of programming

  • Use of influence; engagement of others

How does Leon Draisaitl fit into that mix? I’m happy you asked. If you remember, Draisaitl pledged an eight-year contribution of $1.2 million (annually) to help local charities such as the WE Movement in Alberta and Hockey Helps Kids. At the time, Draisaitl explained his thought process and why it meant so much to him to get involved:

“I want to give back to the Edmonton community, because it has given me so much. It’s important to me to support youth learning about how to give back and be active in their communities in order to have a positive impact. I have seen the effect Hockey Helps Kids has as a team captain for D. S. MacKenzie School last year. The students were so dedicated to their cause. They were inspiring. WE also encourages youth to get involved and gives them the life skills and experience they need to make a difference. I am happy to support both initiatives, and see the impact they have on youth and our community.”

While every team is able to put forth a nominee, the three finalists for the 2019-20 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced in early August with the winner being revealed at some point during the Conference Finals. The winner of the award will receive a $25,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice, while the two runners-up each will each receive a $5,000 donation. Since the award’s inception in 1988, three Edmonton Oilers have won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Kevin Lowe in 1990, Ethan Moreau in 2008, and Andrew Ference in 2014.

The winner of the award will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly.