Edmonton Oilers and Director of Amateur Scouting Tyler Wright have mutually parted ways

Cam Lewis
10 months ago
The Edmonton Oilers announced a change to their front office on Tuesday.
The organization and Director of Amateur Scouting Tyler Wright have mutually parted ways. Replacing Wright in that role will be Rick Pracey.
Pracey was a goaltender for Wilfred Laurier University between 1991-92 and 1993-94 and the University of Windsor for the 1995-96 and 1996-97 seasons. He joined the Windsor Spitfires of the OHL as a goaltending coach in 2000-01 and then moved into amateur scouting with the Colorado Avalanche in 2001-02.
He was a scout for the Avs for seven seasons before being named the organization’s Director of Amateur Scouting in 2008-09. Pracey held that position for five seasons until he was let go by the Avs in October of 2014. He then joined the Philadelphia Flyers as an amateur scout during the 2014-15 season and has been in the same role with the organization until now.
During Pracey’s time as Colorado’s Director of Amateur Scouting, the Avs had many high picks at the top of the draft and landed Matt Duchene, Gabriel Landeskog, and Nathan MacKinnon. His biggest success was the 2009 draft in which the Avs selected Ryan O’Reilly in the second round and Tyson Barrie in the third. The Avs also swung and missed on names like Duncan Seimens, Joey Hishon, and Conner Bleackley with first-round picks under Pracey’s watch.
There’s no word on why the Oilers and Wright opted to part ways. Wright had been the Director of Amateur Scouting for both the Columbus Blue Jackets and Detroit Red Wings and came to Edmonton in June of 2019 shortly after Ken Holland was named the organization’s President of Hockey Operations.
Below are the selections that the Oilers made during Wright’s four drafts as the organization’s Director of Amateur Scouting…
  • 2020 draft: Dylan Holloway (14th), Carter Savoie (100th), Tyler Tullio (126th), Maxim Berezkin (138th), Filip Engaras (169th), Jermais Lindewall (200th)
  • 2021 draft: Xavier Bourgault (22nd), Luca Munzenberger (90th), Jake Chiasson (116th), Matvey Petrov (180th), Shane Lachance (186th), Max Wanner (212th)
  • 2022 draft: Reid Schaefer (32nd), Samuel Jonsson (158th), Nikita Yevseyev (190th), Joel Maatta (222nd)
  • 2023 draft: Beau Akey (56th), Nathaniel Day (184th), Matt Copponi (216th)

Check out these posts...