NHL All-Star Player Draft: Team McDavid selected Connor Hellebuyck, David Pastrnak with top picks

Photo credit:© John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports
Ryley Delaney
4 months ago
The teams have been set for Saturday’s four-team All-Star Game tournament on Saturday.
Teams led by captains Connor McDavid, Auston Matthews, Nathan MacKinnon, and Quinn Hughes drafted teams from a pool of other All-Stars. It was the first time since 2015 that the NHL had seen a draft-style event at All-Star Weekend.
It was a snake format, just like a pre-season fantasy draft, with McDavid picking last in the first round, but picking first in the second round. Below are the teams, as well as the order of picks.
Team Hughes
Co-Captain: Jack Hughes
Assistant Captain: Elias Petterson
Celebrity: Michael Bublé
Team Matthews
Assistant Captain Morgan Reilly
Celebrity: Justin Bieber
Team MacKinnon
Assistant Captain: Cale Makar
Celebrity: Tate McRae 
Team McDavid 
Assistant Captain: Leon Draisaitl
Celebrity: Will “Bojack Horseman” Arnett 
Round 1:
  1. Nikita Kucherov (Team Hughes)
  2. William Nylander (Team Matthews)
  3. Sidney Crosby (Team MacKinnon)
  4. Connor Hellebuyck (Team McDavid)
Round 2: 
  1. David Pastrňák (Team McDavid)
  2. Alexandar Georgiev (Team MacKinnon)
  3. Mitch Marner (Team Matthews)
  4. Thatcher Demko (Team Hughes)
Round 3: 
  1. Kyle Connor (Team Hughes)
  2. Jake Oettinger (Team Matthews)
  3. Kirill Kaprizov (Team MacKinnon)
  4. Rasmus Dahlin (Team McDavid)
Round 4: 
  1. Robert Thomas (Team McDavid)
  2. Sebastian Aho (Team MacKinnon)
  3. Clayton Keller (Team Matthews)
  4. Brady Tkachuk (Team Hughes)
Round 5: 
  1. Jesper Bratt (Team Hughes)
  2. Mathew Barzal (Team Matthews)
  3. Tom Wilson (Team MacKinnon)
  4. Sam Reinhart (Team McDavid)
Round 6: 
  1. Sergei Bobrovsky (Team McDavid)
  2. Jeremy Swayman (Team MacKinnon)
  3. Igor Shesterkin (Team Matthews)
  4. Cam Talbot (Team Hughes)
Round 7: 
  1. Brock Boeser (Team Hughes)
  2. Filip Forsberg (Team Matthews)
  3. Travis Konecny (Team MacKinnon)
  4. Boone Jenner (Team McDavid)
Round 8: 
  1. Nick Suzuki (Team McDavid)
  2. Elias Lindholm (Team MacKinnon)
  3. Alex DeBrincat (Team Matthews)
  4. J.T. Miller (Team Hughes)
Round 9: 
  1. Frank Vatrano (Team Hughes)
  2. Vincent Trochek  (Team Matthews)
  3. Oliver Bjorkstrand (Team MacKinnon)
  4. Tomas Hertl (Team McDavid)
McDavid and Co. went with netminder Connor Hellebuyck with their first pick before immediately adding prolific goal scorer David Pastrňák. After another seven picks, the Oiler duo picked up a defenceman in Rasmus Dahlin. Their fourth pick was St. Louis Blues forward Robert Thomas who has 17 goals and 52 points.
They next went with Sam Reinhart, who is having a career year with 37 goals and 62 points. Their next pick was their second goalie and Reinhart’s teammate, Sergei Bobrovsky. McDavid selected a surprising pick with his next one, Boone Jenner who captains the struggling Columbus Blue Jackets.  Team McDavid’s penultimate pick was used on Habs captain, Nick Suzuki.
Vincent Trocheck, Tomáš Hertl, Frank Vatrano, and Oliver Bjorkstrand, were the four players who were unselected by the time the final round rolled around. Trocheck ended up on Team Matthews, Hertl on Team McDavid, Vatrano on Team Hughes, and Bjorkstrand on Team MacKinnon.
To the surprise of no one, Team Hughes mainly took Canuck players, as they scooped up five of the six Canucks in the All-Star game, missing out on the newest Canuck, Elias Lindholm. Team Matthews constructed his roster similarly, picking up William Nylander and Mitch Marner in the first two rounds.
The Skills Competition will be taking place on Friday at 5:00 PM MT. Both McDavid and Draisaitl will be participating in the event, and the winner will take home a million dollars. The All-Star Game tournament will happen at 1:00 PM MT on Saturday. 

If you enjoy my content, you can follow me on Twitter @Brennan_L_D.

Check out these posts...