Vincent Desharnais is the Edmonton Oilers’ nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Photo credit:© Marc DesRosiers-USA TODAY Sports
Nation World HQ
29 days ago
The list of players nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy was announced on Friday morning, and Vincent Desharnais was named as the Edmonton Oilers’ nominee.
In a league dominated by flashy goal-scorers and highlight-reel plays, quieter contributions often go unnoticed. That’s why it’s wonderful to see that Vincent Desharnais, the unassuming defenseman for the Edmonton Oilers, has been turning heads with his strong work ethic, determination, and commitment to the game. And now, he’s being recognized for it.
Drafted 183rd overall in the 7th round of the 2016 NHL Draft, Desharnais has taken the long road to reach where he stands today. At 27 years old, he hasn’t had your typical assent to the NHL, nor is he a household name for much of the hockey world. But what he lacks in glamour, he makes up for in grit and tenacity.
The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey, has found a deserving nominee in Vincent Desharnais. Despite facing numerous challenges and doubters along the way, Desharnais has never wavered in his commitment to the game he loves.
In the 2023-24 season, Desharnais has quietly become a reliable presence on the Oilers’ third pairing, appearing in 70 games and contributing one goal and 10 assists for 11 points. But his impact goes far beyond the stat sheet. Known for his physicality and willingness to sacrifice his body for the team, Desharnais may not be the most skilled defencemen on the ice, but it’s impossible to doubt his commitment to the team.
What’s perhaps most impressive about Desharnais’ journey is his resilience and willingness to outwork others on the way to his goals. Despite being drafted in the later rounds and facing a tough road to even make it to the NHL level, Desharnais has defied the odds and carved out a niche for himself in the best league on earth. What started out as a potential short-term recall in January of 2023 has turned into Desharnais latching onto a spot on the third pairing and refusing to give it up.
Off the ice, Desharnais is equally commendable. A consummate professional and a true team player, he leads by example both in the locker room and in the community. Whether it’s spending extra time on the ice after practice to work on his skills or volunteering his time for charitable causes around Edmonton, Desharnais embodies the spirit of the Masterton Trophy in every aspect of his life.
As the Edmonton Oilers’ nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, Vincent Desharnais may not be the flashiest player on the ice, but he’s undoubtedly one of the most deserving. His journey serves as a reminder that success in hockey isn’t always measured in goals and assists, but in perseverance, dedication, and the willingness to never give up on your dreams.
Below is the full list of nominees…
  • Anaheim Ducks: Urho Vaakanainen
  • Arizona Coyotes: Connor Ingram
  • Boston Bruins: Danton Heinen
  • Buffalo Sabres: Ukko-Pekka Luukonen
  • Calgary Flames: Oliver Kylington
  • Carolina Hurricanes: Frederik Andersen
  • Chicago Blackhawks: Colin Blackwell
  • Colorado Avalanche: Jonathan Drouin
  • Columbus Blue Jackets: Zach Werenski
  • Dallas Stars: Matt Duchene
  • Detroit Red Wings: Alex Lyon
  • Edmonton Oilers: Vincent Desharnais
  • Florida Panthers: Oliver Ekman-Larsson
  • .Los Angeles Kings: Viktor Arvidsson
  • Minnesota Wild: Marco Rossi
  • Montreal Canadiens: Joel Armia
  • Nashville Predators: Michael McCarron
  • New Jersey Devils: Curtis Lazar
  • New York Islanders: Cal Clutterbuck
  • New York Rangers: Jonathan Quick
  • Ottawa Senators: Claude Giroux
  • Philadelphia Flyers: Sean Couturier
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Sidney Crosby
  • San Jose Sharks: Justin Bailey
  • Seattle Kraken: Joey Daccord
  • St. Louis Blues: Nathan Walker
  • Tampa Bay Lightning: Mikey Eyssimont
  • Toronto Maple Leafs: Ilya Samsonov
  • Vancouver Canucks: Noah Juulsen
  • Vegas Golden Knights: Alex Pietrangelo
  • Washington Capitals: T.J. Oshie
  • Winnipeg Jets: Laurent Brossoit

Check out these posts...