NHL.com writers vote Leon Draisaitl as Hart Trophy winner

Leon Draisaitl is the winner of the 2019-20 Hart Trophy — at least, that’s what the writers for NHL.com think.

In a survey conducted by 18 NHL.com writers, Draisaitl was given 19 more voting points than his next closest competitor, Nathan MacKinnon.

Draisaitl won the Art Ross Trophy this year as the NHL’s top scorer after posting 43 goals and 67 assists in 71 games.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Not only that, but he was first in points per game (1.55), assists, and power-play points, with 44. Draisaitl led all forwards in time on ice per game playing 22:37 a night.

The actual vote to determine the Hart Trophy winner will be conducted in a poll completed by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Here’s a look at how the voting broke down:

Voting totals (points awarded on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis): Leon Draisaitl, Oilers, 83 points (12 first-place votes); Nathan MacKinnon, Avalanche, 64 points (four first-place votes); David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins, 45 points (one first-place vote); Connor McDavid, Oilers, 34 points (one first-place vote); Artemi Panarin, New York Rangers, 30 points; Roman Josi, Nashville Predators, 6 points; Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning, 2 points; Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets, 2 points; John Carlson, Washington Capitals, 1 point; Jack Eichel, Buffalo Sabres, 1 point; Brad Marchand, Bruins, 1 point

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

On Twitter: @zjlaing