Edmonton Oilers release development camp roster, announce 12 invites

Photo credit:Twitter/Edmonton Oilers
Zach Laing
7 months ago
The Edmonton Oilers released their development camp rosters a day after players underwent physicals.
The 29-player roster features a slew of Oilers prospects including draftees Xavier Bourgault, Tyler Tulio, Jake Chiasson, Carter Savoie, Matvei Petrov and 2023 2nd-round pick Beau Akey, among others. It also features recently acquired or signed players like Carl Berglund, Jayden Grubbe and Noel Hoefenmayer.
There are some interesting names with connections to the Oilers among the invites. Forward Ethan De Jong and defenceman Jake Johnson were signed by the Bakersfield Condors to AHL deals ahead of next season. Both players played last season for Quinnipiac, and Johnson had earned a stint with the Oilers’ ECHL affiliate, Fort Wayne Komets, at the end of the NCAA season.
Forward Will Zapernick, an Edmonton native and former member of the AJHL’s Sherwood Park Crusaders, just wrapped up his third year at the University of Vermont. That’s where recent Oilers draftees Joel Maata and Luca Munzenberger play, and where head coach Jay Woodcroft’s brother, Todd, is the head coach.
Defenceman Mike Brown just finished his second season at Merrimack College in the NCAA having scored four goals and nine points. The Oilers drafted his teammate, Matt Copponi, in the seventh round of the draft last week.
Another interesting name: Hamilton Bulldogs defenceman Noah Van Vliet, who Oilers special assistant to the GM Steve Staios would know well. Van Vliet joined the Bulldogs in January 2022 having played Jr. B hockey earlier in the year in the United States, and Ontario.
Here’s a look at the players the Oilers invited to camp this year.


  • Ethan De Jong – NCAA Quinnipiac
  • Preston Lounsbury – QMJHL Moncton
  • Jake Sloan – WHL Tri-City
  • Brady Stonehouse – OHL Ottawa
  • Antonin Verreault – QMJHL Gatineau
  • Will Zapernick – NCAA Vermont


  • Jake Johnson – NCAA Quinnipiac
  • Mike Brown – NCAA Merrimack
  • Nate Misskey – WHL Victoria
  • Josh Van Mulligan – WHL Medicine Hat
  • Noah Van Vliet – OHL Hamilton


  • Zachary Brown – OHL London
Development camp session are open to the public this year out of the Downtown Community Arena. The schedule is as follows:
Monday, July 3
  • 10:15am-11:15am: Defencemen
  • 11:45am-12:45pm: Forwards & Goaltenders
Tuesday, July 4
  • 9:45am-11:00am: Scrimmage
Wednesday, July 5
  • 10:15am-11:15am: Forwards & Goaltenders
  • 11:45am-12:45pm: Defencemen & Goaltenders
Thursday, July 6
  • 10:15am-11:15am: Defencemen
  • 11:45am-12:45pm: Forwards & Goaltenders

Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at zach@oilersnation.com.

Check out these posts...