Kris Russell is the Edmonton Oilers’ nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Photo credit:Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports
Cam Lewis
10 months ago
The list of players nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy was announced on Monday.
The award, which is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, is given to the player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication.”
Edmonton’s nominee is Kris Russell, who became the NHL’s all-time leader in blocked shots back in November.
The soon-to-be 35-year-old Russell has appeared in 29 games for the Oilers this season, scoring two goals and seven points while blocking 66 shots. Russell is an unrestricted free agent at the end of this season and has played in 910 games over the course of his career.
Last year, the award was won by Oskar Lindblom of the Philadelphia Flyers after he returned to play following a successful battle with bone cancer.
Below is the full list of nominees…
Anaheim Ducks – F Ryan Getzlaf
Arizona Coyotes – F Andrew Ladd
Boston Bruins – F Jake DeBrusk
Buffalo Sabres – F Kyle Okposo
Calgary Flames – D Chris Tanev
Carolina Hurricanes – G Antti Raanta
Chicago Blackhawks – F Dylan Strome
Colorado Avalanche – D Jack Johnson
Columbus Blue Jackets – F Justin Danforth
Dallas Stars – F Tyler Seguin
Detroit Red Wings – D Marc Staal
Edmonton Oilers – D Kris Russell
Florida Panthers – F Anthony Duclair
Los Angeles Kings – F Blake Lizotte
Minnesota Wild – D Jared Spurgeon
Montreal Canadiens – G Carey Price
Nashville Predators – D Mark Borowiecki
New Jersey Devils – F Nico Hischier
New York Islanders – D Zdeno Chara
New York Rangers – F Chris Kreider
Ottawa Senators – G Anton Forsberg
Philadelphia Flyers – F Kevin Hayes
Pittsburgh Penguins – F Brian Boyle
St Louis Blues – F Vladimir Tarasenko
San Jose Sharks – D Brent Burns
Seattle Kraken – F Jaden Schwartz
Tampa Bay Lightning – F Alex Killorn
Toronto Maple Leafs – F Ondrej Kase
Vancouver Canucks – D Luke Schenn
Vegas Golden Knights – F Jack Eichel
Washington Capitals – F Nicklas Backstrom
Winnipeg Jets – D Josh Morrissey

Check out these posts...