Oilers’ Connor McDavid received 16 of 17 first place votes for the Conn Smythe Trophy

Edmonton Oilers Connor McDavid
Photo credit:Sergei Belski-USA TODAY Sports
Zach Laing
22 days ago
Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid became the second skater and sixth player in NHL history to win the Conn Smythe Trophy on Monday night.
In the process, he received 16 of 17 votes for first place, winning by a landslide. The only other player to receive a first-place vote was Florida Panthers netminder Sergei Bobrovsky.
The full ballots were revealed Tuesday morning by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.
He had a historic run through the 2024 playoffs, scoring eight goals, 34 assists and 42 points in 25 games, becoming the third player in NHL history to record 40 or more points in a single post-season. The only two others to do so were Wayne Gretzky (three times) and Mario Lemieux, who did it once.
McDavid also broke a longstanding record held by Gretzky for most assists in a season, with 34. He surpassed The Great One’s previous record of 31, set in the 1988 playoffs.
In the finals, McDavid scored three goals and 11 points, and was two away from tying the record for most points in the finals held by Gretzky (13 points in five games, 1988 playoffs) and Newsy Lalonde (13 points in five games, 1919 playoffs).
Other Oilers players received votes, as well. Zach Hyman finished fifth, receiving one second-place vote, Evan Bouchard sixth, receiving two third-place votes, and Stuart Skinner seventh, receiving two third-place votes.
Here’s the full ballot and point totals, via the PHWA:

2024 Conn Smythe Trophy Ballots

Jonathan BernierJournal MontréalMcDavidBarkovVerhaeghe
Per BjurmanAftonbladetMcDavidBarkovBobrovsky
Ryan S. ClarkESPNBobrovskyMcDavidBarkov
Josh ClippertonCanadian PressMcDavidBarkovForsling
Luke FoxSportsnetMcDavidBarkovForsling
François GagnonRDSMcDavidBarkovSkinner
Colby GuyPalm Beach PostMcDavidBarkovForsling
Chris JohnstonThe AthleticMcDavidBarkovForsling
Emily KaplanESPNMcDavidBarkovBobrovsky
Pierre LeBrunThe AthleticMcDavidBarkovForsling
Jim MathesonPostmediaMcDavidHymanBouchard
Jordan McPhersonMiami HeraldMcDavidBarkovVerhaeghe
Daniel Nugent-BowmanThe AthleticMcDavidBarkovBouchard
Michael RussoThe AthleticMcDavidBarkovForsling
Frank SeravalliDaily FaceoffMcDavidBarkovForsling
Mark SpectorSportsnetMcDavidBarkovSkinner
Stephen WhynoAssociated PressMcDavidBarkovForsling

Voting Point Totals

Connor McDavid, Edmonton: 83 points
Aleksander Barkov, Florida: 46 points
Gustav Forsling, Florida: 8 points
Sergei Bobrovsky, Florida: 7 points
Zach Hyman, Edmonton: 3 points
Evan Bouchard, Edmonton: 2 points
Stuart Skinner, Edmonton: 2 points
Carter Verhaeghe, Florida: 2 points
Points were awarded on a 5-3-1 basis and the deadline to submit ballots to the NHL occurred with 10 minutes remaining in Game 7.

Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at zach@thenationnetwork.com.


Check out these posts...