The Edmonton Oilers made a slew of moves Monday afternoon to set an opening day roster as required by the NHL.
Monday afternoon at 3 p.m. was the deadline for teams to be cap compliant ahead of the season, and the following is what the Oilers did to get there.
Three players were placed on the injured non-roster list in forwards Josh Archibald and Dylan Holloway, as well as defenceman Dmitri Samorukov.
On the long-term injured reserve went defenceman Oscar Klefbom and goaltender Alex Stalock, while William Lagesson was placed on the injured reserve.
In a pair of moves with the Bakersfield Condors, the Oilers recalled Phillip Broberg and loaned Kyle Turris. This pair of moves may just be paper transactions to start the year.
According to PuckPedia, the Oilers opening roster submission is $4.88-million over the cap. The Oilers can now add Archibald to the LTIR, flip Broberg and Turris again, in order to have an LTIR pool of $6.38-million while having $1.24-million in cap space, PuckPedia added.

Zach Laing is the Nation Network’s news director and senior columnist. He can be followed on Twitter at @zjlaing, or reached by email at [email protected]